Android :: Put Camera Preview Inside A Surfaceview In An Activity Xml Gui

Aug 27, 2009

I just got my camera preview working for my app, but it is not appearing where I want it to appear, and I'm not sure how to get it there. Instead of using the entire screen for the preview, I would like to put it inside a surfaceview in an activity xml gui. What do I need to change? Here is my code:

public class TakePic extends Activity {

SurfaceView camSurface;

Preview camPreview;

@Override

protected void onCreate(Bundle savedInstanceState) {

super.onCreate(savedInstanceState);

requestWindowFeature(Window.FEATURE_NO_TITLE);//hide window title

camPreview = new Preview(this); //create preview

setContentView(R.layout.takepic);

setContentView(camPreview); //set preview as activity content

camSurface = (SurfaceView) findViewById(R.id.camsurface); }

Android :: Put Camera preview inside a surfaceview in an activity xml gui


Android : How To Set Camera Preview In A Custom SurfaceView?

Jun 26, 2009

I am trying to set a camera preview in a custom SurfaceView but I get an exception each time I execute the initialization method.

View 4 Replies View Related

Android : Way To Handle Camera Preview Data Without A SurfaceView?

Mar 25, 2009

I want to receive the data from the preview of the Camera, but without having to set a SurfaceView with a SurfaceHolder in the view of my application. I want to do something like this: Camera cam = Camera.open(); cam.setPreviewCallback(new MyPreviewCallback()); cam.startPreview(); This will not work because I need to call setPreviewDisplay (SurfaceHoler) before I start the preview. I can get a SurfaceHolder from a SurfaceView, but I don't want a SurfaceView, because I don't need one. I just want to handle the preview data by myself.

View 2 Replies View Related

Android :: Animating A Drawable On A Canvas Inside A Surfaceview

Sep 2, 2010

Is there a way to animate drawables on a canvas using the android built-in animation classes?

Ive been modeling my test application, a game, after the example apps lunarlander and jetboy. They contain a lot of reusable code, but they manually update the drawable objects in real time. It seems like using the android animation built ins would be so much easier since they provide the type of animation I needŽa simple linear movement.

Is there a way to do this, or am I better off updating my canvas in real time much like the example apps.

If there is a way, could anyone get me started with some sample code? I am currently inheriting SurfaceView in my class.

View 1 Replies View Related

Android :: Taking A Picture With Camera - Without SurfaceView

Oct 28, 2010

Hi Guys! I'm coding a little app, but I don't know what I'm doing wrong. The App does the following: - Launches a Service which listens for an sms, then captures a picture with the cam and sends it to a predefined email adress. (no, i'm not trying to spy somebody out... I'm using the app to get a "3G-Webcam", sort of at least)

The problem: My App works great in the emulator, but as soon as I try it on my HTC Magic (cm6, android 2.2) it stops working.

CODE:.............

The permissions are all set, even the write to SD-card. What am I missing?

Note: I'm not using a surfaceview. Code:

CODE:......................

View 2 Replies View Related

Android : How Can I Add Portrait Layout On Top Of Landscape Camera SurfaceView?

Apr 19, 2010

My application should hold a camera preview surface. The camera is fixed to landscape view via AndroidMainfest.xml I am quite new to the Android plattform programming. Of course I don't know much about the programming tricks and workarounds yet. I did a lot of research over the last two weeks (even studied the native Camera implementation), but couldn't find a good solution so far.

View 2 Replies View Related

Android :: How To Exit Activity Using SurfaceView

May 18, 2010

When exiting the activity in a thread in a SurfaceView. This log appears in this situation:.............

View 2 Replies View Related

Android :: Camera / SurfaceView App Returns Icon Not Emulator Checkerboard Image

Sep 29, 2010

I'm using the android SDK in Eclipse on Linux. I've used the code at itp.nyu.edu/~sve204/mobilemedia_spring10/androidCamera101.pdf to write an app to store an image captured through the camera onto SD card (there are various examples of this around). It works ok except that the image returned by the camera is not what's on the preview surface. Instead of getting the checkerboard image I expect, I get different versions of the android icon depending on which version of target I choose. If I render the image to an ImageView this is confirmed as it's the same as on the SD card.

View 1 Replies View Related

Android :: SurfaceView - Does Not Show The Activity In Grey Background

Jul 27, 2009

1)Which is better for developing a game.

a)Using XML layouts

b)Using Custom layouts with Surface view

2) while making a custom view using Surface view... do we need to have a secondary thread to implement the surfaceholder.callback()......

My code below does not show the activity in grey background as i have coded... do i need to use the unlockcanvas and all ,,but i havent used the secondary thread

CODE:..............

View 2 Replies View Related

Android :: How To Get Activity View Inside That Activity?

Nov 11, 2010

I want to show my next activity withing my previous activity layout "LinearLyout". But it is not working. Can any one help? I put my last activity layout reference to a global class in an static variable. My code...

View 3 Replies View Related

Android :: Camera Preview Not Working On G2

Oct 20, 2010

I'm trying to get the camera preview running on my G2.

This is the code I'm testing with, which was taken from the sample code. It is using supplemental code supplied by Wu-Cheng, but its still throwing an error.

CODE:......................

View 14 Replies View Related

Android :: 2.1 Camera Preview Error

Aug 28, 2010

I have a problem with using the camera of an Android 2.1 phone (HTC Desire), maybe you can help me.
After calling camera.open() DDMS in Eclipse shows the following errors:

CODE:............

Test view in the emulator works fine, but on my phone only a popup is shown where I only can close the application.

View 2 Replies View Related

Android :: Cannot Get Camera Preview Example To Work

Oct 28, 2009

I upgraded to the 2.0 SDK yesterday. Don't know if that has anything to do with it. I can't get the Camera Preview example from the API Demos to work. I get the same error in both my emulator and on my G1:
E/AndroidRuntime( 4758): java.lang.RuntimeException: Fail to connect to camera service.

View 4 Replies View Related

Android :: Possible To Camera Capture Without A Preview?

Jun 30, 2010

Is it possible to capture an image without showing the camera preview?, i have a requirement that i should be able to capture the image from a thread or from a service, without disturbing the foreground application, where i do not want to show the camera preview, but still i want to capture the image in background and store it in the device. So is it possible to do using the Android 2.2 SDK version?

View 3 Replies View Related

Android :: How To Get A Camera Preview In Phone

Jun 25, 2009

Anybody know about the camera Api in android.when i used this Api it displayed a black and white grids and a squre moving above it.Anyone know how to get a real time camera preview please help me with some code.

View 2 Replies View Related

Android :: Camera Capture Without Preview In 2.2

Aug 30, 2010

I have a requirement to Capture the image without showing the Preview.. And i want to do it in the Background as a Service. Is it possible to do that?

View 2 Replies View Related

Android :: How To Put Graphics On Top Of My Camera Preview

Sep 10, 2010

I see a couple of threads on this topic, but none of them seem to answer the question, so, I'm giving it another go...

Very simple idea... I want to some portion of the screen to preview (and shoot) the camera and the other portions of the screen to add my own graphical elements (buttons, colorful frame around the camera preview, etc).

The example that comes with Android fills the screen. The obvious solution (that doesn't seem to be working) is to use my own SurfaceView (rather than the one they do in the example) and have it sitting in my XML. The code (beneath) doesn't crash and reports that it's firing up the camera... it just never renders on the screen.

I have no idea what I'm doing incorrectly. My guess is that it has something to do with the display thread never having the urge to redraw anything after it renders the initial screen, but I even tried adding a button and initiating the camera to render on the surface view upon button click, but that has not provoked it any further.
(most of this code is pulled directly out of the Android sample code, so, I'm sure it's correct. I'm just doing something wrong in how I pull my View in after the fact, I think).

CODE:........................

View 1 Replies View Related

Android :: Camera Preview Is Working Properly

Feb 24, 2010

In my Application the camera preview is working properly in both in portrait and in landscape mode. No crashes are occurring, but the users are complaining that the crashes are occurring when they are using the same.

View 1 Replies View Related

Android :: UI Window In Camera Preview Application

Nov 27, 2009

Let's say in my example I am working with SurfaceView for my CameraSurfaceView. I have a few questions, hope you can help me.

1. When this SurfaceView gets created (I assume via final CameraSurfaceView cameraView = new CameraSurfaceView (getApplicationContext()), this will result in a call createSurface() in SurfaceFlinger with format, width and height. Am I correct?
Is this SurfaceView also my UI window if I want to draw anything? I thought if I call setType(PUSH_BUFFER) on this surface, I won't be able to do any drawing on this surface.

2. How does the application pass these information like format, width and height to SurfaceFlinger for the allocation? Is it by using .setFormat, .setFixedSize?

3. How do they methods .setFormat, .setFixedSize related to the surfaceHolder.surfaceChanged() callback?

View 2 Replies View Related

Android :: Camera Application Preview Crashes

Nov 24, 2010

So I started with this little write-up. I wanted to try to make an application that will take pictures while running in the background. To start though I wanted an application that once opened would simply take a picture every X seconds. After recreating the classes and methods show in the walk through below I ran into a few problems.
http://itp.nyu.edu/~sve204/mobilemedia_spring10/androidCamera101.pdf

For starters its seems that the onCreate function sets up all the objects for the application, but if you try to take a picture through any other method than onClick (IE directly calling it) the application actually hasn't setup the canvas or the preview yet.

My first question:
Is there any conditional method that you can setup that will wait till all the "onCreate" objects are created and their associated methods are called and finished? How do I wait for the application to finish putting together my surface and starting the cameras preview before automatically starting to take pictures?

My second question:
I am required to have a preview available to take pictures. Is there anyway to push this application to the back (IE running in the background) while still taking pictures? Is drawing to a canvas a requirement? (From what I can tell AFAIK, you are required to have a surfaceholder to start preview, when you put up another screen or application that pauses the current application and closes the surface/canvas you were presenting that preview on). If my understanding is correct on all of this the best I will be able to do is make a 1x1 pixel canvas that will still take up the screen due to the application being in the foreground.

My Third question:
Is there any way around this? Can you still utilize the camera in some fashion without requiring the preview be drawn?

View 1 Replies View Related

Android :: Camera Preview Zoom Not Working

Sep 7, 2010

I've a problem with Camera Preview Zoom. The methods present in Android 2.2, setZoom() is not working to zoom the preview. Is there any another way to do the Zoom in android? I am using the code present in the Android API Demos. Is their any body who has worked on implementing ZoomIn & ZoomOut and got succeed??

View 4 Replies View Related

Android :: Why Is App Camera Preview Running Out Of Memory On AVD

Apr 27, 2010

I have yet to try this on an actual device, but expect similar results. Anyway, long story short, whenever I run my app on the emulator, it crashes due to an out of memory exception.

My code really is essentially the same as the camera preview API demo from google, which runs perfectly fine.

The only file in the app (that I created/use) is as below-

CODE:.......

View 1 Replies View Related

Android :: Camera Preview 90 Degree Rotated

Jun 8, 2009

When camera is launched in portrait mode, the viewfinder screen is 90 degrees rotated and stretched out. I read couple of places that this is a known bug with sdk1 but i am still finding this problem with cupcake. Has anyone having any idea is this issue is fixed in cupcake or in donut? any clues how to move ahead. setOrientation and changing the preview size didn't help. Even I read somewhere Surface flinger class needs change: http://groups.google.com/group/android-framework/browse_thread/thread...

View 3 Replies View Related

Android :: Camera Preview Rotated And Stretched

Jun 11, 2009

I am using the code from ApiDemo Camera Preview and it runs fine on my Gphone but the preview is rotated and stretched.

View 8 Replies View Related

Android :: How To Overlay Image Over Camera Preview?

Jan 30, 2009

Does someone know how I can overlay an image over the camera preview?

View 6 Replies View Related

Android :: Camera Without Preview / Need To Use Ipc And Bindservice To Call

Mar 5, 2010

I am writing an android 1.5 application which starts just after boot-up. This is a service and should take a picture without preview. This app will log the light density in some areas whatever. I was able to take a picture but the picture was black.

After googling like crazy, i came across a bug thread about it. If you don't generate a preview, the image will be black since android camera needs preview to setup exposure and focus. I've created a surfaceview and listener but the onSurfaceCreated event never gets fired.

I guess the reason is, the surface is not being created visually. I've also seen some examples of calling the camera statically with MediaStore.CAPTURE_OR_SOMETHING which takes a picture and saves in the desired folder with two lines of code but it doesn't take a picture too.

Do i need to use ipc and bindservice to call this function or do you have any suggestion to achieve my goal (taking a picture without preview) and if so, would you give me a small piece of code as example?

View 2 Replies View Related

Android :: Camera Preview Screen Still Black

Mar 16, 2010

I'm trying the camera preview

This is my code and it doesn't throw any error, but the screen still black, any ideas?

this.setContentView(R.layout.camerapreview);
SurfaceView cameraSurface = (SurfaceView)findViewById(R.id.cpPreview);
SurfaceHolder holder = cameraSurface.getHolder();
holder.addCallback(this);
holder.setType(SurfaceHolder.SURFACE_TYPE_PUSH_BUFFERS);
this.camera = Camera.open();
this.camera.setPreviewDisplay(holder);
this.camera.startPreview();}

View 2 Replies View Related

Android :: Camera Preview To A SurfaceHolder On Galaxy S

Jul 19, 2010

I have an app which uses the Camera, sending the preview to a SurfaceHolder. Everything works fine on the HTC Desire that I have been developing on, but when I run it on a Samsung Galaxy S the image from the preview is rotated 90 degrees.

The code attempts to match the best Size returned from the parameters.getSupportedPreviewSizes(), with the width and height of the Surface (as passed into SurfaceChanged as width and height).

(the image is also rotated on the Galaxy when an image is taken from the app). Has anyone else had problems with the preview on the Galaxy? Or better yet got around the problems?

View 1 Replies View Related

Android :: Overlaying Graphics On A Camera Preview?

Oct 4, 2009

I am interested in putting some simple graphics (lines, a bit of text, etc) over a live camera preview.

I've looked at the examples, and fiddled around a bunch, but just don't see how to do it.

The examples use a GLSurfaceView as a camera preview surface, but in that mode the view apparently cannot be drawn on. They also fill the whole screen with it. I tried putting it in a normal layout, rather that setting it as the content view, but it does't work.

Anyone know how to: 1) draw graphics over a camera preview when it is the whole view for the activity? 2)do the same thing with a camera preview in a layout shared with other (small) views?

View 3 Replies View Related

Android :: Camera Preview On Motorola Droid?

Jan 10, 2010

Our application displays a camera preview and it seems to work fine on all phones except for the Motorola Droid where we get a runtime exception when we set the camera parameters:

CODE:.........

Here is the code for surfaceChanged() which is mostly taken from APIDemos

CODE:......

Does anyone know what is wrong with how we are setting the parameters that would be causing the exception on the Motorola Droid?

View 2 Replies View Related







Copyrights 2005-15 www.BigResource.com, All rights reserved